Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

HOW TO MAKE VIOLET LIQUOR March 13, 2011

Filed under: Cooking,Homes — misscilicia @ 1:54 am
Tags: , , , , ,
Infusing the Voilets

Violets infusing.

Champagne and Violet Liquor

I just created this liquor, also known as a cordial, and think it is good enough to share. My daughter was my inspiration for this.  Last Thanksgiving, she made us a drink with champagne and violet liquor. I have been looking for some violet liquor ever since, but live in a small town, where such things are unheard of. A few weeks ago, it occurred to me that it’s violet season, and I could make some. I have made several different flavors of cordials with fruit, but it had not occurred to me before to use flowers. Once I did think of it, I had to try it right away.

I had planted violets in my yard and let them go wild several years ago. Now I’m ready to take advantage of my unintentional planning ahead. First I picked about 6 cups of blossoms. I found out that the bees had woken and and also discovered the flowers, so I picked -and stepped-very carefully.

My cat was also a great help.  Every time I bend over, (she thinking, of course, that I’m bending over to pet her-why else? ) rushed over and thoughtfully put her purring furry cat body right under my hand to make it easy for me.

Coming at a trot.

Coming at a trot.

Kitty talk translated: Pet me, pet me now!

Kitty talk translated: Pet me, pet me now!

So, it took a while longer than I had anticipated, but it was a beautiful. sunny day and both my cat and I had a nice afternoon. Once I managed to fill my container I placed them in a colander and carefully rinsed them.

I then placed them in a large glass pot and added about two quarts of water. I heated it up very slowly. This is the most important step. Do NOT boil the flowers. They will be ruined. Stand over the pan and heat them up slowly, until steam forms, but before it boils, and turn off the burner, put on the lid and leave it until cool.

Then put it in the fridge for 2-3 days. After that, pour through a strainer into a glass jar. You should have about two quarts.  The flowers will be pale , and the liquid will be an amazing dark blue.

In the meantime, make some simple sugar syrup. Place two thirds cup of sugar in a glass bowl. Add one half cup boiling water and stir.  I use a very small amount of sugar because the flowers are already sweet, and because I want to taste them, not the sugar. Let cool completely.  Add to violet extract water. Add two cups of vodka. My daughter , who has bartended, recommended Monopolowa Vodka, which is made from potatoes and imported from Vienna, Austria.   Mix this all together. It’s now done.  Store in a cool, dark place.This will get better with age, but it may not be around very long. This does need to be refrigerated.

All eatable flowers have their own unique medical proprieties. While I don’t know what violets contain, I do know that they are a wonderful spring tonic for us.

Violets only bloom a few weeks of the year, so now is the time to make it!  Now, I think I’ll go have a  medicinal glass of violet cordial!

 

11 Responses to “HOW TO MAKE VIOLET LIQUOR”

  1. Ahimsa Says:

    This is a great recipe. And the I really like the pictures. I don’t think I even really like violets, but this looks super tasty.

  2. janessapk Says:

    Oh Yay! This is such an amazing post. I can’t wait to try it; I’m certainly going to LOVE it. How creative of you!

  3. Linda Corey Says:

    I love violets — to look at and to decorate food with. Now I know how to make violet cordial, if I ever have 6 cups at one time! My wood violets (the dark purple ones) bloom in small batches from February to June. Thanks for posting this delightful recipe. It’s a good one!

  4. Amanda Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing! Spring is slowly emerging here on the West Coast of Canada and I’m going to try this (though at half scale) with the smallish patch of violets in my garden. I’m so excited to get started, but I want to make sure I find a worthy bottle of vodka first. ;)

    As for medicinal properties, I read yesterday that members of the viola family contain anthocyanins, which are antioxidants found in brightly-pigmented fruits and vegetables, and often in their attendant leaves/roots/flowers as well. Cheers to your cordial!

    • misscilicia Says:

      Thanks for letting me know about the properties of violets, and please let me know how it comes out.

  5. I have a very few violets in my garden but I want to make a liqueur. Todays picking only yielded 1/2 cup. But, my gosh, they have such a beautiful bouquet! I am thinking I will add either a vodka or 100 proof Polish white alcohol and extract the flavour this way. Then I can keep adding blossoms as they arrive.

    • misscilicia Says:

      I also picked some violets and put them in some vodka. I am going to strain them and add some simple sugar syrup.
      Please let me know how yours turns out, and thanks for reading my post.

  6. Teresa Says:

    Thanks for sharing this tasty treat with me, I enjoyed it straight and it was very elegant mixed with champagne, the pinkish blue bubbles rising to the top of the glass is just beautiful.

    I can’t wait to try to make my own sometime, but my violet garden needs to grow first, I only have one small plant in my yard.

  7. Benet Says:

    I, too, am in love with creme de Violette and have not been able to find any for purchase. A friend of mine has a beautiful violet patch growing by a stream in her yard; we’ve been waiting for them to fully bloom. Tomorrow’s the day! I anticipate as much joy harvesting the petals along the stream as I do sipping the (eventual) product.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.