Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

Dried Cinnamon Apples September 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — misscilicia @ 7:54 pm
Tags: , , , ,

This is a great way to preserve fruit for the winter. This also makes a nice gift when placed in a pretty jar and tied with a ribbon.

I have a dehydrator, but you can dry foods in your oven just as well. I also use my car to dry food on hot days.  Just roll up the windows to keep the bugs out and the heat in. The first time I tried this I burned my hand on the metal cookie sheet I was using.  This way is not only cost efficient (free!) but also makes your car smell really nice. Talk about your natural car freshener:)

Mix a bowl of turbanado sugar and cinnamon to your taste. I usually start with about 1/2 cup of sugar and about 1/4 cup of cinnamon. Mix well. I like to put it in a bowl and toss with a fork, but you can also put it in a ziplock Baggie.

Take your sharpest serrated knife and slice apples as thinly as possible. Dip into the cinnamon sugar mix and coat well. Place on drying rack till dry. You do need to make sure that they are completely dry, or they will mold.

This method works on  about any fruit or veggie. I’ve dried squash, tomatoes, bell peppers, hot peppers and onions like this. I like to throw a handful of dried veggies in my winter stews.

Here’s a photo of the process.S4300042

 

3 Responses to “Dried Cinnamon Apples”

  1. Janessa Says:

    Awesome! You make the BEST cinnamon apples!

  2. Those sound delicious! Now that I have a big kitchen, I regret giving away my dehydrator. What temperature should I try in the oven? And for how long?


Leave a Reply

