Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

Potpourri November 30, 2009

Filed under: guides,Homes,Uncategorized — misscilicia @ 1:27 am
Tags: , , ,

The year has fled by yet again and now it’s time to think about making some gifts for the holidays.

This year I’ve decided to give some potpourri. Potpourri is usually a mixture of dried, naturally fragrant plant material, used to provide a agreeable natural scent in houses. You can place it in bowls or small cloth bags, or as I did, in glass jars.

I prepared it today, but really I started it last summer when I picked and dried roses and lavender.
I chose to use the glass jar because it shows the pretty dried flowers. The jar held a candle until recently, so it was also a good way to recycle the jar. When the candle was done, I took out the leftover wax and put aside for remaking into candles. I then cleaned the jar thoroughly.

This is a before and after photo of the candle jars.

I mixed rose petals, a dried orange peel and some lavender in the jar. I then added some vetier root powder as a fixative to keep the scent strong. Orris root can also be used.  I added some rose and some lavender essential oils to the mix and gently stirred with a wooden spoon. I put on the lid and tied on a pretty ribbon. Wala!  A finished gift ready to go. The cost was minimal and it only took a few minutes. Also it made my home smell nice while I was making it.

I have all the ingredients assembled.

Time to mix in the scents and the fixative.

The finished product!

I save pretty jars and interesting containers throughout the year. I also collect flower petals, pine cones and whatever I come across. Then when it’s gift time I have lots of material on hand to work with.

There are many things that can be added. Allspice, cloves, cinnamon bark, mint, any kind of sweet smelling flowers are all great additions.   A winter themed  one could have small pine cones mixed in and scented with wintergreen, for instance. You are only limited by your imagination

I really enjoy making small gifts for friends on many levels. I enjoy planning what I am going to make each year.  I put on some good music and spend an peaceful quiet afternoon having fun creating presents for my loved ones. I also like not driving to a mall and fighting the crowds to purchase mass produced objects that are most likely made in China.  And of course, I like to recycle and reuse whatever I can, remaking what would be trash into something useful and attractive.

I hope that if you try it you will enjoy creating gifts as much as I do.

 

2 Responses to “Potpourri”

  1. Linda Says:

    What a wonderful website and great ideas! I love what you do! You have written an appealing description for your projects and you organize each one so it’s easy to follow. The photos are wonderful for illustrating the steps. Nice touch!

    The dried rose petals, lavender and orange peel in a tiny mesh bag, tied with a ribbon, can be tied around the bath tub faucet so the warm water flows over the bag. This is a tidy way to make a scented bath and you can use the bag over and over.

    • floating lotus Says:

      misscilicia, i love this idea.,.. wish i had all that stuff right now and make some of that great sounding smelly stuff! thank you for your great ideas!! F.L.


Leave a Reply

