Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

PEAR LIQUOR October 11, 2011

I have a surplus of pears. These are wonderful organic and locally grown (my yard:) pears. I’ve canned them, I’ve dried a gallon of them, I’ve made them into a conserve, and I still have pears. Lots and lots of them. So, I’ve come up with the following recipe.  I’ve made something similar before, so I’m sure I’ll like it. In fact, I didn’t even like pears until I tried making them into a infusion like this one.

Here’s my recipe:                                                                                  Pear Infusion:

In a quart jar add two ripe diced pears, one-half of a peeled, chopped orange, one-quarter (more or less) whole nutmeg, five whole cloves, five or six white peppercorns, and one small piece diced crystallized ginger. Fill jar to the top with good quality vodka. Cap, shake vigorously and let sit in a dark spot until Christmas season (or about two months). It would be interesting to make a fruit cake with the vodka soaked fruit. This becomes a lovely amber color.

This is easy and fast to put together. It makes for nice gifts when you strain it and pour into small, pretty labeled jars. This recipe can be doubled or tripled, just add more of everything. I’m going to make a larger batch as soon as I get some more vodka!

Enjoy!

 

2 Responses to “PEAR LIQUOR”

  1. […] is found here. Worst picture in the world I know… but you get the idea.  […]


Leave a Reply

