Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

GINGER SYRUP November 6, 2011

Filed under: Cooking,guides — misscilicia @ 7:09 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I love, love, love ginger. Just can’t get enough. It follows, of course, that ginger ale is my favorite drink. What I don’t like is all the bad ingredients, such as high- fructose corn syrup, in my favorite soda. So, I thought that perhaps I could make my favorite soda myself, and save some money as while.  I love saving money almost as much as I love ginger. After some experimentation, here’s the recipe I came up with.

Take two fresh ginger roots, and scrub thoroughly. Sharpen your favorite knife and dice the roots as fine as you can. Add these, and about three cups water to a pan, and bring to a boil. Turn down to low, cover with a lid and let simmer for about 40 minutes. After that, remove the pan from the heat. Pour out about a half cup through a strainer into bowl, and let the rest sit covered until cooled.  Add about one half cup organic sugar or agave syrup to the hot liquid and stir.  You can make it sweeter than  this if you prefer. After the rest of the ginger liquid has cooled, strain it and add the sweetened part to it, and stir to mix. And, that’s it. You are done, and the proud maker of a fine batch of ginger syrup! Let the fun begin!

This syrup is good for you as while as pretty darn tasty, as ginger has many health proprieties. Just Google it ,and you will be amazed! Here’s a link I found interesting: http://www.boost-immune-system-naturally.com/health-benefits-of-ginger.html

So far, I’ve made soda by adding about three tablespoons to a glass, then topping with club soda.   Also, my daughter Janessa Philemon-Kerp and I created a drink we call The Collette. This is made by mixing a couple of tablespoons with a glass of champagne. Delicious!

My latest creation with ginger syrup is a hot drink. Put your tea kettle on to boil. Add about a quarter cup of your ginger syrup to the bottom of your cup, squeeze in about half a lemon, and add your favorite sweetener, such as honey or agave syrup. Top with hot water. A shot of whiskey in it is quite good, too. This warms you up nicely on a cold autumn day.

Here’s some photos of the process:

ENJOY!

 

Leave a Reply

