Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

VEGAN BARLEY-VEGGIE BURGERS March 22, 2012

  VEGAN AND GRILLABLE BARLEY-VEGGIE BURGERS

 

Image

The inspiration for this recipe came from wanting to make a veggie burger that I could grill without it falling into pieces.I make millet burgers, which are tasty, but disintegrate at the mere sight of of a grill. Sure, you can buy some good ones, but  I wanted to make my own veggie burgers from scratch. So after a bit of experimentation, here’s what I came up with.

Cook 2 cups barley. (Bring 2 cups water to boil. Add 1 cup barley. Lower to simmer, and cook till done.This takes about 40 minutes.)  Let cool. While the barley is cooking, dice about 2 cups of veggies. I like to use carrots, broccoli, various colors of bell peppers, red onions, garlic, and celery. Saute these in a bit of olive oil, until almost, but not quite cooked. They will cook more later.

UPDATE!

The last time I made these, I made a change. Dice the veggies, and put them directly into the food processor. No need to cook them first. I also added about 1/4 cup of flax seeds, and about 14 cup of vegetable broth to the food process along with the veggies, barley and spices.  Those held their shape even better than before, and they are faster to prepare without sauteing the vegetables. Also, this time I used the food processor, mostly because I recently dropped and broke my blender, and it worked better than the blender did.

ImageTake about one cup of the cooked barley and put in blender or food processor.  Add /2 cup of oats, and about 1/4 cup of the veggies.

(If you are making these for picky kids, you can add in all the veggies now.  It will be our secret. )

Add seasonings, such as oregano, rosemary, thyme, cayenne, and black pepper. Blend until smooth.

Now mix the contents of the blender, the cooked barley and the cooked veggies in a large bowl and stir well.  Shape these into patties, flouring your hands first.

 

Image

Image

Now these babies are ready to be slapped on the grill. If its cold and raining like it is here right now, you can cheat and use your range top.

Cook until browned and crispy, then turn to the other side and cook until done.

 Image

The one on the left side is all gussied up for my dinner!

Top with your usual burger fixings, and dig in. I like to serve these with a side of sweet potato fires.

ENJOY!

 

5 Responses to “VEGAN BARLEY-VEGGIE BURGERS”

  1. Ahimsa Says:

    Those look so good. In fact, I dreamed about millet burgers last night. But barley burgers sound even better.

  2. janessapk Says:

    I want some. Can’t wait to make this recipe.


Leave a Reply

