Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

QUICK & EASY HOMEMADE PIZZA ! March 28, 2012

A long-standing tradition in our family is home-made pizza night. I make a pizza crust for each person, so that we can all put on our individual toppings. Rather than buy the tasty, but expensive pre-made crusts in the store, I whip up my own, in no time. Seriously, this can be oven ready in under ten minutes. While the crust is cooking, prepare your toppings. I can have a home made pizza on the table in 30 minutes, start to finish.

S4300135

QUICK & EASY HOMEMADE PIZZA CRUST:

2 cups flour. This can be a mix of unbleached white, whole wheat and other types, depending on what you are making, and your mood.

!/4 to 1/2 cup olive oil.

1 Tablespoon baking power

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt.

1 Tablespoon sugar

Add enough water until it forms into dough, about 1/2 cup. Turn out onto a floured surface and roll out.

S4300095

S4300110S4300115

S4300120S4300125

Transfer to oiled pizza pan, and (my sons favorite part) poke with a fork to prevent air pockets. Bake about 10 minutes, or until browned at 350 degrees.

And now, prepare toppings.Add toppings to baked crust and return to oven. Turn oven temperature up to 400 degrees, and until browned, about 10 minutes.

Last night my son and I made home made pizza’s.We used this recipe for the crust. We make 2 different ones as we have very different taste in toppings. My son had the traditional tomato sauce and cheese version. I didn’t use sauce or cheese on mine. Instead I brushed the crust with olive oil and sprinkled red chili flakes on it. I sliced a tomato thinly and laid it on first. This turns into sauce-like while it bakes. Then I topped it with roasted garlic, roasted bell peppers, olives,and lots of veggies. Yum.

S4300135

The possible combinations are endless.

ENJOY!

 

One Response to “QUICK & EASY HOMEMADE PIZZA !”

  1. janessapk Says:

    Now I want pizza!


Leave a Reply

