Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

FREEZER NUTTY PLUM CONSERVE September 23, 2012

Filed under: Cooking,Homes — misscilicia @ 6:04 pm
Tags: , , , ,

The Finished Conserve.

I visited a good friend of mine last week, and came home with a couple of full bags of very ripe Green Gage plums. I decided to make them into jam.  My mom gave me the recipe years ago. It’s a little different than most. I usually use purple plums, but any kind of plum will be good  and would work with this recipe. I like tasting the fruit instead of sugar, so I don’t add much, but you can add more if you prefer it.

4 cups  plums

1 cup sugar, plus 1/4 cup sugar.

1 Tablespoon grated lemon

1/2 cup chopped walnuts, pecans, or whatever your favorite nut is

1/4 cup orange juice (I had pineapple, orange strawberry juice, so I used that.)

1 package pectin.

Pit & finely chop about 3 lbs. plums, any variety. Combine with the lemon ( I keep a lemon in the freezer and grate whatever I need from it.), the chopped nuts, and the juice. Mix the 1/4 cup of sugar with the pectin, and add to plum mix. Stir well. Let sit for 30 minutes, then add the cup of sugar. Stir well. Let sit at room temperature for 24 hours, then pour into pretty jars and freeze.  This comes together very quickly, and is delightful on a cold winter morning. It’s good on toast, of course, and also good mixed in yogurt, or over ice cream, or as a topping for pancakes.

Preparing the ingredients.

ENJOY!

 

Leave a Reply

