Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

Sasha’s Marinated Tomato & Cucumber Salad Recipe October 3, 2012

Image

This is quick and easy to put together.

My son and I were in line at Grocery Outlet last week (Love that store! You never know what you will find there.), and I noticed that the woman in front of us had a container of marinated fresh mozzarella in her cart. That reminded me that I love fresh mozzarella, especially during tomato season.  Inspired, I ran and got myself a container of them. Back in line, she told me her recipe for them. As soon as I heard it, I had no doubt that I would love it. I asked if she would mind if I posted her recipe on my blog and name it for her. She graciously said yes, so here it is! Thanks Sasha!

Sasha’s Marinated Tomato & Cucumber Salad

1 Ripe Tomato

Cucumber

Red Onion

Mozzarella

Red Wine Vinegar

Salt & Pepper

Image

The Ingredients meet.

There are no amounts given, except the tomato, and that’s more of a guideline than a rule. Chop the ingredients in amounts to your liking, then add the vinegar, and some of the flavored oil from the mozzarella. I added a few things to Sasha’s recipe. I have fresh basil in my garden, so a big hand full was diced and stirred in.Yum. I also added a couple cloves of garlic, and some oregano. This comes together quickly and is a perfect way to enjoy the last of the summer’s bounty. It’s even better the next day, provided you don’t eat it all up at once!

ENJOY!

 

Leave a Reply

