Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

Golden Cornbread November 22, 2012

Image

Vegan Cornbread Muffins hot out of the oven and slathered with margarine.

Freshly made cornbread is such a treat and very fast and easy to make. These are a definite family favorite around here.

Image

Here’s my recipe:

  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 cup corn meal
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup sugar

Mix together, then add:

  • 1/2 cup safflower oil
  • 1 cup soy milk, unsweetened
  • 1 cup water
Image

The Dough

My son only likes plain ol’ cornbread, whereas my taste is much more adventurous.So, for him, I pour half the cornbread mix into the pan. The other half is for me, and I add various yummy things like some whole corn kernels, some diced red onion and garlic, and some mild chiles. I put mine part into cupcake papers because I just found some really cool ones that are stripped and polka dotted!

Image

The son’s plain ol’ cornbread and my spicy version.

Image

done!

 

One Response to “Golden Cornbread”

  1. janessapk Says:

    Yum! And now I want cornbread. These look yummy. Cute muffin paper!


Leave a Reply

