Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

Cream cheese Spinach Stuffed Mushrooms January 2, 2013

I was thinking about making something special for dinner New Year’s Eve dinner. Looking through the fridge, I found some large mushrooms that were the perfect size for stuffing. I also had some extra left-over bread crumbs made for Thanksgiving stuffing, as well as a large bunch of spinach.  Inspiration hit!

I started with 4 cloves of garlic (What can I say? I like garlic) and about ¼ of a red onion. While they were simmering in my frying pan in some olive oil and a bit of white wine, I gently rinsed the mushrooms and removed the stems. I diced the stems after trimming the ends, and added them to the frying pan. After they were golden brown I turned the heat to low and added about half a block of cream cheese that had been cut into small pieces. This recipe could be made vegan easily by using vegan cream cheese. I used a fork to mush it, and then added about 1/4 cup of bread crumbs and a bit of oregano, thyme and rosemary.

I then lightly oiled a baking dish and turned the oven on to 350.  Once the mixture had  combined and heated through, the fun part commenced.The stuffing part! I stuffed each mushroom and placed them on the oiled baking dish. Then I placed them in the oven and baked them for about 20 to 30 minutes. While it was baking I made a salad, and added a loaf of garlic bread the last 10 minutes of baking time.

Image

 

Leave a comment