Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

Pumpkin Spice Scones with Pumpkin Spice Icing October 14, 2013

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

For some reason, the pumpkin craze hit me harder this autumn than usual. Don’t get me wrong—I like pumpkin, I’ve just never gone all out nuts over it. This year is different. I needed—yes, needed–some pumpkin spice eggnog.  That wasn’t enough to fill the void, so the same day I created this recipe for pumpkin spice scones with pumpkin spice icing, and then, later for dinner, I made a large pot of butternut and pumpkin soup. I’m sated now, and will probably be able to carry on.  In case anyone else is going through pumpkin cravings, here’s my new scone recipe:

·         3 cups flour. I used half bread flour and half whole wheat pastry, because that’s what I had on hand.

·         ½ cup organic sugar.

·         4 teaspoons baking powder and 1 teaspoon baking soda

About 1/2 teaspoon each of Cinnamon, Ginger, Cloves, & Allspice

·         ½ cup pumpkin puree.

·         ¼ oil

·         ¼ to ½ cup vanilla soy milk. You can use your favorite milk here.

Preheat oven to 375. Mix the dry ingredients together, then add the pumpkin, oil  and milk. Knead lightly until it forms a dough. Roll out into a circle about ½ thick and cut like a pizza into six pieces. Put on oiled pan and bake for about 8-10 minutes.  They are done when the bottom (look carefully) is lightly browned,  Your kitchen will smell wonderful when they are done.

For the icing, I mixed about two tablespoons of powdered sugar with about a tablespoon of pumpkin spice eggnog. Brush this on the scones as soon as you pull them out of the oven.

I like to make a batch of scones over the weekend and have one for breakfast throughout the week. I usually add seeds, nuts and or some dried fruit for a more complete meal, but this time I just wanted the essence of pumpkinness.

ENJOY!

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leave a Reply

