Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

Green Goddess Salad Dressing/ Marinate/ Veggie Dip/ Sauce July 31, 2014

Filed under: Cooking,guides — misscilicia @ 10:32 pm
Green Goddess Dip

Green Goddess Dip

As a child, my favorite salad dressing was Green Goddess. I tried it for the first time in a long time and discovered that it tastes too chemically to me these days. So, I set about to create my own version. It was test-taste approved by friends, so I thought I’d share this new recipe.

The first time I made it, I added a lot more mayonnaise and water which I marinated some veggies in, with very good results. I baked the veggies in a covered glass dish with all the marinate liquid, and they tasted very creamy when done and was yummy over rice. It was good enough to want to make again.

This version is thick enough to use as a dip for veggies or chip. It would also make a nice sauce for pasta or veggies.

And here’s the recipe:

  • 1 Cucumber, peeled
  • Small bunch spinach
  • ¼ cup Real Mayonnaise (Vegan mayonnaise now available at the Dollar Store!)
  • 2-3 Garlic cloves
  • ¼ Red onion
  • Salt, pepper, and cayenne to taste. I also used a smoky flavor from Trader Joe’s.

Combine all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth. Keep refrigerated.

 

ENJOY!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

