Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

Spiced Canned Pears September 21, 2015

Filed under: Cooking,guides,Homes — misscilicia @ 12:01 am
Tags: ,
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Spiced Pears

I have two pear trees that are very good producers and every year I have a challenge finding ways to use them up. One of the ways this year was with a new recipe I had thought of that I wanted to try. This was to can pears with a simple syrup seasoned with cloves and other sweet spices. I don’t open my canned foods until Thanksgiving or the first snow, so I have a while to wait to try it, but it sure did smell good. I used pint jars because I wanted single servings. This makes 6 pints.

First get your hot water bather going and sterilize your canning jars, rings, and lids. I sterilize mine in the oven to free up burner space.

Make the simple syrup by bringing to a simmer 4 cups water. Add 1 cup sugar, and ¼ teaspoon if allspice, cardamom, cloves, ginger, and nutmeg. Keep hot.

Quarter about 8-10 pears, taking out the center, until you have about 10 cups.

When the water in the hot water bather is just about boiling, begin. Tightly pack the hot sterilized jars with the pear slices and ladle in the syrup until the liquid is 1/4” from the top of the jars. Wipe jar lids clean, put on lids and rings and place in the hot water bather. Process at a full boil for 20 minutes. Carefully remove jars from bather, place on clean cloth and let cool. My favorite part is hearing the lids seal with a satisfying pop sound, which means that they sealed safely. And now I can hardly wait for winter so that I can try them!

ENJOY!

 

Leave a Reply

