Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

Cream of Potato Soup February 14, 2016

Filed under: Cooking,guides — misscilicia @ 6:57 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

I was surprised when I realized that I had not ever posted this soup recipe before now. This is what I call my “magic” soup because it’s what I crave when I don’t feel good, and it always makes me feel better. It’s kinda my vegetarian version of chicken soup. Lately, I’ve been experimenting with adding in different veggies. Now I add the broccoli and cauliflower stalks to the potatoes, which is a good way to use them up. I’ve also been adding other root veggies, like sweet potatoes. This takes about ½ hour to prepare.

Ingredients:

1 cup water

1 cup milk. I like almond or soymilk for this

2 potatoes

1 sweet potato (This gives it a lovely golden color.)

1-2 cups broccoli and/or cauliflower stalks. This is not necessary if you don’t have any on hand.

1 tablespoon veggie bouillon

Spices to taste. I use salt, pepper, oregano, thyme, and rosemary.

Grated cheese, optional

1 Tablespoon miso

½ cup nutritional yeast

These last two ingredients are very important. If you don’t have any miso or yeast, you should go get some! They are what makes the soup so tasty and also healing.

Directions:

Cut veggies very small, so they cook quickly. Add to pan with water. Add the bouillon and spices. Cook about 20 minutes or until tender. Place in blender along with the yeast and milk and blend until smooth. Now add the miso. Miso loses all its nutrition if boiled, so always add it last.

Pour the soup in a bowl and add cheese if desired.

 

ENJOY!

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Cream of Potato Soup”

  1. Lp Says:

    Wish I was there having some of this delicious soup! School tomorrow, no soup for me!

    • misscilicia Says:

      I got in the mood for this soup when I posted this recipe! Wish I hadn’t eaten it all already. 🙂 Wish I could make us both some.

  2. Abby Says:

    Sounds yummy! Can’t wait to try it.


Leave a Reply

