Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

CACIO E PEPE September 2, 2016

Filed under: Cooking,guides,Homes,Uncategorized — misscilicia @ 5:55 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_20160902_104238922_HDR

The seasonal change in light has a big affect on me. I feel the change as the bright, brilliant summer light gives way to the softer, weaker sun of the autumn season. It leaves me feeling a bit melancholy and low-spirited. Does anyone else feel this way? This past Tuesday was when I felt the light sifting as another season slipped away. I have by now figured out ways to combat this feeling, by burning candles and stringing white lights all over inside, and I adjust pretty quickly.

The good thing about this change is that I feel like cooking and eating again. I’ve never had much appetite in the summer time and mostly just munch on whatever’s ripe in my garden. I made myself a new recipe last night and I think it came out well enough to share.  Like most of my recipes, it is quick and easy to prepare.

Ingredients:

6 oz. pasta

1 cup freshly grated Romano cheese

2 tablespoons butter, softened

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

Several fresh basil leaves, diced

About ¼ cup reserved pasta water

Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste. I also added a sprinkling of cayenne.

 

Directions:

Bring a large pot of water to boil.

While pasta is cooking, put the rest of the ingredients, except the pasta water, in a large bowl and mix well. When the pasta is done, drain, remembering to reserve some of the water, and add cooked pasta to the bowl and stir, adding enough water to help coat the pasta. Serve with French garlic bread and salad, if desired.

 

ENJOY!

 

2 Responses to “CACIO E PEPE”

  1. Patricia Says:

    That looks real good.


Leave a Reply

