Greenbird’s Blog

Go green with greenbird

Broccoli and Marinated Tofu over Pasta December 9, 2016

Filed under: Cooking,guides — misscilicia @ 6:28 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

tofu

I was in the Chicago airport last week, flying back from Dublin and Edinburgh, when I saw a fellow traveler eating something that looked delicious. I asked her where she had bought it and she directed me to the food court. I found it there, but it was a very large portion and it cost $9.00. I learned while I was in Scotland that I come by my frugalness legitimately, thanks to my Scottish heritage. Rather than pay that much for a meal I would not be able to finish, I decided to wait until I was home and make it myself.

This takes longer to prepare than most of my recipes do, and it takes three pans, but it’s nice sometimes to take a little longer for a good meal, and this is a nice time of year to spend time in the kitchen. Plus it heats up your home and smells yummy.

Ingredients:

¼ cup hoisin sauce

1 tablespoon rice vinegar

½ lime, squeezed

1 teaspoon tamari or soy sauce

1 or 2 cloves garlic, diced

Cayenne to taste

¼ block tofu, cut into small squares

 

½ head broccoli, cut into bite size and steamed

 

2 serving pasta, cooked

 

Directions:

Mix the first six ingredients and add tofu. Let marinade at least one hour or overnight.

Sautee or grill the tofu. Save a bit of the marinade.

 

Serve over the pasta and broccoli. Add a spoonful or so of the marinade over the top.

 

ENJOY!

 

 

Leave a Reply

